Avoiding Time-Sinks

We do so much by rote, by custom, but I’ve noticed suddenly, how often I seem to be at someone else’s beck and call, and this is tied to the pileup of emails. So I’ve taken to asking myself whose calendar am I on?

  • Shutting Emails Up

Distractions occur most when I go into the email queue – there are so many fascinating avenues to explore. Then I pull myself up short and ask what was it I intended to do here? Is this what I want to spend my time on? Is it on my daily goals list?

  • Making Pulse Checks

Taking a momentary Pulse Check helps somewhat. I came across some advice in a back issue of Yoga Journal, from Sally Kempton: where she talks about getting out of your busy mind. She advises occasionally to pause for two of three minutes during the day and stop. Stand or sit totally still for one minute, and say to yourself “I have all the time in the world.” It’s amazing how powerful this technique can be.

old copper train sink

  • Changing Speed

It also helps to change your task: get up and do a few Tai Chi moves outside if possible. Look at the sky notice the color of the trees and grass, watch the birds fly across the sky. This works to ground yourself as well.

  • Evaluating Purpose

Whilst in this surveying frame of mind, it’s also useful to ask: “Is what I propose spending time on even worth doing at all? Does it belong in the architecture of my life right now?”  Such questions can simplify or clear your calendar. Not everything needs to be done right now.

Which brings me back to where I started –getting back onto my own calendar.

Photo: Dreamstime

About helenscribe

Helen is a long-time writer, with experience in both fiction and non-fiction. Her latest fiction, an English cozy mystery "The Domino Deaths" is available on Amazon. She is also an amateur painter and sailor.
This entry was posted in Creative Spirits, inspirations, Psychological and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

