Book Buyers in Mountain View

Bookstores are my haven, and anywhere I go in the world, a local bookstore is where my heart draws me.

I was on Malta and found “The Kappillan of Malta” that opened my eyes to the sufferings of the citizens during World War II living in caves to survive. Awarded the King George Cross for gallantry, ‘Battleship Malta’ as the island nation came to be called, was the lynchpin of the battle for the Mediterranean. Finding that book enriched my whole journey.

Malta_Valletta_harbValetta, Malta Harbour entrance

Later, island-hopping in the South Pacific found me with my nose in a book, catching up on history in the Cook Islands and Tahiti. I had to bring back those books with me.

How could you ever gain real intelligence without bookstores where you can find books on subjects you never knew existed? Especially used book stores, because that is where the most-loved, most read treasures are. Books with opinions and sound ideas.

Stay in a lonely hotel room in a strange town and you’ll see why. Real books have a smell, a taste, a texture all their own. Stroll through the aisles, fill your arms and embroider your dreams with another take on reality.

Helen Vanderberg

About helenscribe

Helen is a long-time writer, with experience in both fiction and non-fiction. Her latest fiction, an English cozy mystery "The Domino Deaths" is available on Amazon. She is also an amateur painter and sailor.
This entry was posted in Creative Spirits, inspirations, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Buyers in Mountain View

  1. libbycole007 says:

    I absolutely love physical books. I’ll read things on my kindle for convenience, but anyone who wants to buy me a present knows a solid paperback is the only way to go. Can’t beat them!

    http://libbycole.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

