GRATITUDE FOR BOOKSTORES

What a wonderful gift my prize volume from BookBuyers of Mountain View is—an elegantly bound and gilded volume of Shakespeare’s play “Anthony & Cleopatra” I’m overwhelmed. Again, a curious reaction of embarrassment—I’m not worthy, like the Divinity Prize I got at Shepperton Church School after coming out of the convent. Like I had an advantage over others through no work of my own.

Prize Book

Prize Book

I seem to have the notion that success has to be painful, difficult. If it’s not, then I didn’t earn it. Like earn is a word that has grind built into it. Is this part of the Biblical message of the buried talents? I don’t remember the parable completely, but I know the one who buried his talents was chastised for not properly utilizing what he’d been given. How does this pertain to winning a beautiful prize in a contest?

Or is the ‘earn’ always accompanied by a grind? In addition to this glorious edition of a Shakespeare play, besides being enormously grateful to BookBuyers for even existing (thanks doesn’t really seem enough) I am conscious of the precious business model any bookstore faces.

But as I’ve said before, that’s where our treasures are. The stories of great loves, nefarious skullduggery, murder, mayhem and witchcraft, of human failings and successes, and the endless wanderings of the human soul.

Permanent reminders of who we are and who we ought to be, or could be if we imagined fully the results of a civilization dreaming.

About helenscribe

Helen is a long-time writer, with experience in both fiction and non-fiction. Her latest fiction, an English cozy mystery "The Domino Deaths" is available on Amazon. She is also an amateur painter and sailor.
This entry was posted in Creative Spirits, inspirations, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

